Your cart is empty


Quantity: 0

Total: 0,00


National Parks of Hungary

National Parks of Hungary

There are ten national parks in Hungary.



Hungary, national park, nature reserve, Aggtelek, Bükk, Kiskunság, Kőrös-Maros, Őrség, Hortobágy, Danube - Drava, Danube - Ipoly, Fertő-Hanság, Balaton Uplands, coat of arms, logo, physical geography, geography

Related items


National Parks

  • Fertő–Hanság National Park
  • Őrség National Park
  • Danube–Dráva National Park
  • Kiskunság National Park
  • Danube–Ipoly National Park
  • Aggtelek National Park
  • Bükk National Park
  • Hortobágy National Park
  • Körös–Maros National Park
  • Balaton Uplands National Park

The purpose of national parks is the conservation and preservation of the natural environment of an area, to protect it against any kind of agricultural or industrial use. National parks also offer opportunities for scientific, educational and recreational activities. Currently there are 10 national parks in Hungary.

The Hortobágy National Park, established in 1973, was the first such park in Hungary. It features calcareous and loess grasslands interrupted by marshes and flood plains.
Its logo depicts a crane during a mating dance.
Area: 805.49 km².

The others, in the order of establishment:

Kiskunság National Park
The second national park of Hungary was established in 1974. Its typical features are sand dunes, sand and loess grasslands and scattered marshes.
The entire area is a biosphere reserve.
Its logo depicts sand dunes.
Area: 567.61 km².

Bükk National Park
The third national park of Hungary was established in 1977. The first national park in the Northern Hungarian Mountains. The mountains are formed mainly of dolostone and limestone. Its typical surface features include sinkholes, protruding rocks and caves.
Its logo depicts a silver thistle surrounded by beech leaves.
Area: 402.63 km².

Aggtelek National Park
The fourth national park of Hungary was established in 1985. This area consists mainly of limestone and other sedimentary rocks, its typical features are sinkholes and caves with stalactites and stalagmites, which are included on the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
Its logo depicts a fire salamander, a characteristic animal of the area.
Area: 201.7 km².

Fertő–Hanság National Park
The fifth national park of Hungary, established in 1985. It is famous for the marshland that covers its area, with many protected bird species.
Its logo depicts a Great Egret.
Area: 235.88 km².

Danube–Dráva National Park
It was established in 1996, as the sixth National Park of Hungary.
The most important natural resources include the Gemenc floodplain forest, which is a game reserve and home of several bird species.
Its logo depicts flying aquatic birds.
Area: 494.79 km².

Körös–Maros National Park
The seventh national park of Hungary, established in 1997. Its characteristic features are floodplain forests and extensive grasslands. The most important function of this national park is the protection of the Adonis transsylvanica (Transylvanian pheasant’s eye) and the Salvia nutans (Nodding sage), as it is the only habitat of these plants in Hungary.
Its logo depicts the Great Bustard, a typical bird of the Eurasian grasslands.
Area: 501.34 km².

Balaton Uplands National Park
The eighth National Park in Hungary, established in 1997. Its purpose is the preservation of the unique flora and fauna of Lake Balaton, especially the protection of aquatic birds.
Area: 569.98 km².

Danube–Ipoly National Park
Established in 1997, the ninth National park in Hungary. This is perhaps the richest in natural wildlife, with species exclusively found here.
Its logo depicts the Rosalia longicorn, a protected species of insects.
Area: 603.14 km².

Őrség National Park
The newest national park in Hungary, established in 2002.
Protected species of this national park include the Western Capercaillie, several species of peat mosses, lilies and irises.
Area: 440 km².

Related items

Administrative divisions of Hungary

This animation presents the regions, counties and cities of Hungary.

Horse chestnut

This animation demonstrates how horse chestnut trees change throughout the seasons

Hungarian alphabet game

Practice the Hungarian alphabet and form words from the letters.

Isolated settlement (forester´s house)

Foresters adjusted their lifestyle to the forest environment.

Karst region (basic)

Karst formations include dolines and dripstones.


A mushroom is the fleshy fruiting body of a fungus, made up from hyphae.

Soil types – Hungary (map)

This animation demonstrates the types of soil found in Hungary.

Topographic map of Hungary

This animation demonstrates the geographical regions of Hungary.

Layers of forests

The layers of different types of forests may vary.


In ecology, a niche is a term describing the way of life of a species.

Added to your cart.